The final Oxfordshire Sportshall League match took place recently at Witney with Bicester AC enjoying another successful competition winning 4 of the team competitions.  There were wins for both the under 11 boy and girl teams, a win for the under 15 girl’s team and an equal first for the under 13 girl’s team.  This resulted in Bicester AC winning the combined under 11 competition as well as winning the under 11 girl’s and under 11 boy’s competitions.  Bicester AC also took the overall under 15 girl’s title as well as finishing runner up in the under 15 boy’s competition.  Bicester AC finished 3rd in the final under 13 combined standings with the girls taking 2nd spot and the boys finishing 3rd.

There was another magnificent effort by Bicester’s under 11 boys as they recorded three wins and four seconds in the 7 events contested which resulted in a comfortable margin of victory over their nearest rivals.  Charlie Simpson achieved 60 bounces in the speed competition leading the Bicester quartet, which also included Oliver Jarvey, Franek Markiewicz and Brendan Kelly, to a superb win in the speed bounce competition with margin of 10 bounces over their nearest rivals.  In the process Simpson also equalled the Oxfordshire Sportshall League record.  Simpson was also part of the A team squad, which also included Jarvey, Levi Fulcher and Theodore Simms, that along with the B team of Alfieri Akin-Olugbade, Franek Markiewicz, Brendan Kelly and Samuel Wilson, won the 4 by l lap relay.  The A team squad produced the fastest time of the day clocking 52.40secs.  There was also a win for Bicester in the three lap event as Simpson combined with Oliver Jarvey to win with a combined time of 82.2secs.  Jarvey’s effort of 40.6secs was the equal joint fastest time.  Oliver Kelly also competed for Bicester and his efforts included a 0.97cms jump in the non scoring standing long jump.   Medals were awarded to the athletes who have achieved the highest points scores in their age groups throughout the season (4 out of the 5 fixtures to count) with Simpson’s efforts securing a gold medal and Levi Fulcher the silver medal.

Bicester’s under 13 girls were involved in a close competition with both Banbury and Witney.  The 4 by 2 lap relay team of Grace Fulcher, Evie Kemp, Ava Metcalfe and Erin Griffiths finished 2nd to Banbury (1min 48.7secs) in the final event, but crucially finished ahead of Witney to enable a share of first place in the team competition with Witney.  There was an awesome display of running and jumping from Aaliyah Beadle helping Bicester secure two event wins.  Beadle became the first girl in the Oxfordshire Sportshall competition, of any age, to jump over 7 metres (7.09m) in the standing triple jump as she combined with Evie Kemp (5.03m) to win with a combine distance of 12.12m.  Earlier in the competition Beadle combined with Erin Griffiths (26.70secs) to win the two lap competition with the quickest time of 25.3secs.  Beadle also produced a superb jump of 54cms in the vertical jump which was the best in the competition and she combined with Erin Griffiths (40cms) to take 2nd place.  The quartet of Kemp, Metcalfe, Fulcher and Liv Babister combined to take 2nd place in the obstacle race (1min 28.4secs).     

There was a more comfortable win for Bicester in the under 11 girl’s competition with an impressive 6 wins and a second in the 7 events contested.  Bicester’s speed bounce quartet of Brianna Senior, Emelia Beadle, Lorelei Whelan and Hannah Parsons combined for a comprehensive win and a margin of 11 bounces over their nearest rivals with Senior securing the equal highest number of bounces (51).  Olivia Neptune produced the equal highest jump of 45cms and along with Ruby Majonga (40cms) combined to take the vertical jump.  The two relay teams of Beadle, Senior, Majonga and Neptune (A team) and Whelan, Parsons, Ottilie Maclean and Lilyrose Hopkins (B team) combined to win the 4 by 1 lap relay with the A team producing the fastest time of the day (52.10secs).  The Bicester quartet of Neptune, Senior, Beadle and Parsons produced the fastest combined time in the one lap event to win by one tenth of a second (54.70secs).  There was a further win for Bicester quartet from the quartet of Maclean, Whelan, Hopkins and Senior in the obstacle relay (1mins 35.7secs).  Bicester’s other win came in the chest push with Neptune (6.25m) and Majonga (5.08m) combining for the win with a combined distance of 11.33m.  Neptune’s efforts over the sportshall season were good enough to earn the silver medal.  April Perry also competed for Bicester and her efforts included a bounce score of 34 in the non scoring speed bounce.      

Bicester AC’s under 15 girl’s team have been virtually unbeatable throughout the season and another strong team performance in the final event secured a comfortable win in the team competition with 249 points.  Georgia Bower secured equal top spot in the all round competition with two wins and a second.  Bower produced an outstanding 2.26m for her best leap of the winter season to win a competitive standing long jump.  Bower was also the fastest in the 2 lap event with the fastest clocking of the 16 competitors (24.4secs).  Olivia Naidu-Johnson again competed well for 3rd place in the all rounder competition which included 2nd places in the 2 lap event (24.8secs) and speed bounce (80).  Bicester’s other scorers in the team competition were Yasmine Sheppard who achieved 3rd places in the shot (7.28m) and 4 lap event (55.7secs) and Grace Jarvey who was 3rd in the speed bounce (79).  There was a comfortable win for the quartet of Bower, Naidu-Johnson, Shephard and Jarvey in the 4 by 2 lap event (1min 39.5secs).  There was a good performance from Bicester’s Lucia Haverly in the speed bounce (77), where she finished 4th, with Jess Shepperd  equal 9th (67).  There were two good shot putt efforts from Bicester’s Molly Steward, who was 5th in her first ever shot competition putting over 6 metres (6.11m) and Erin Horseman, who was 7th with her best ever putt of 5.78m.  And Lily Spencer’s efforts included a promising first run in the 4 lap event with the equal 4th fastest time of 57.2 secs.  Bower won overall silver for her season’s effort and Naidu Johnson was awarded a bronze medal.

Bicester’s under 15 boy’s team finished in 2nd place with Romain Haverly equal 2nd in the all rounder competition (58 points).  Haverly won the standing triple jump (7.52m) as well as earning 2nd places  in the 2 lap event (23.3secs) and speed bounce (79).  Erlgean Appiahkorang-Mensah was one point behind in 4th (58 points) He was a good winner in the 4 lap event (48.5secs) as well as taking runner up spot in the standing triple jump (7.36m).  Thoms Perry’s efforts included a 4th place in the two lap event (26.6secs).  Haverly and Appiahkorang-Mensah  combined to win the paarlauf (1min 38secs).  Appiahkorang-Mensah’s efforts over the season earned him a silver medal.

Bicester were 4th in the under 13 boy’s competition.  With only three athletes covering the 8 events, points were hard to come by.  Cyrus Ariana produced the fastest time in the 4 lap event (51.40secs) and along with Harry Spencer (58.60secs) combined for 2nd place .  Jayden Beadle and Cyrus Ariana combined well to take 2nd place in the standing triple jump with jumps of 6.08m and 5.38m respectively.  There was a 2nd place for Bicester AC in the vertical jump with jumps of 45cms from Beadle and 35cms from Harry Spencer.  And Cyrus Ariana and Jayden Beadle combined to take 2nd in the paarlauf (1min48.4secs).